Crisis Intervention Teams

Crisis Intervention Team (CIT) is a pre-arrest jail diversion that promotes and supports collaborative efforts to create and sustain more effective interactions among law enforcement, mental health care providers, individuals with mental illnesses, their families, and communities and to reduce the stigma of mental illness.

NAMI Indiana provides a framework to interested communities that brings CIT into more and more areas around the state.

The first Crisis Intervention Team was developed in Memphis Tennessee in 1988 under the leadership of Lt. Sam Cochran. He partnered with members of NAMI, local universities, and local mental health providers to develop training for law enforcement. Crisis Intervention Team (CIT) training now exists in many communities across the United States. While this training was originally developed for law enforcement, it has been expanded to include dispatch, EMTs, and other first responders and criminal justice professionals. Over the course of one week, this 40 hour training teaches participants about various types of mental illnesses, as well as active listening and de-escalation of crisis situations, and what mental health resources are available in the community. The goal is to have a safe resolution of crisis situations involving individuals living with mental illness, and to divert these individuals away from the criminal justice system and into treatment where recovery can begin.

NAMI Indiana does not directly train law enforcement in CIT, but we gladly work with those interested in building or strengthening CIT in their communities. For assistance with CIT in your community, please contact NAMI Indiana's Criminal Justice Director, Marianne Halbert.

In 2015, Gov. Pence signed SEA 380 into law. This bill was updated by 2017's Senate Enrolled Act 231. This important legislation requires the Indiana Law Enforcement Training Board and the Division of Mental Health and Addiction to establish a state CIT Technical Assistance Center. We will update this page as that the CIT-TAC develops.

Indiana CIT Contact Information by County

Where is CIT in Indiana?

Allen (Fort Wayne)

Lt. Tony Maze

Fort Wayne Police Dept.anthony.maze@cityoffortwayne.org

Boone (Lebanon)

Lynette Clark

IN-Well Healthlynette.clark@inwell.org

Delaware (Muncie)

Sgt. Jeff Lacy

Muncie Police Dept.jlacy@cityofmuncie.com

Mary Bedel

NAMI Delaware Countymbedel@icloud.com

Elkhart (Elkhart)

Tina Keim

Jail Capacity Coordinatortkeim@elkhartcountysheriff.com

Hamilton (Fishers)

Sgt. Angela Ellison

Fishers Police Dept.ellisona@fishers.in.us

Hancock (Greenfield)

Matt Holland

Deputy Chief of PoliceGreenfield Police Dept.mholland@greenfieldin.org

Detective Sgt. Bridget Foy

Hancock Co. Sheriff's Dept.bfoy@hancockcoingov.org

Hendricks (Danville)

Sheriff Brett Clark

Hendricks Co. Sheriff's Dept.bclark@co.hendricks.in.us

April Bordeau

Care to Changeapril.bordeau@caretochange.org

Lawrence (Bedford)

Cpt. Troy Lobosky

Lawrence Co. Sheriff's Dept.lcpd4729@gmail.com

Marion (Indianapolis)

Sgt. Lance Dardeen

Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Dept.lance.dardeen@indy.gov

Lt. David Roberts

Marion Co. Sheriff's Officedavid.roberts@indy.gov

Donna Yancey

NAMI Indianapolisdonnayancey@att.net

For CIT for Youth (CIT-Y):

Detective Nicolle Flynn

IMPDnicolle.flynn@indy.gov

Ohio & Dearborn (Lawrenceburg)

Kathy Barnum

NAMI Southeast Indianakathbb@comcast.net

Tippecanoe (Lafayette)

Sheri MooreNAMI West Central Indianasmoore@nami-wci.org

Vanderburgh (Evansville)

Janie Chappell

Deaconess Hospitaljanie.chappell@deaconess.com

Lt. Mark Rasure

Vanderburgh Co. Sheriff's Officemrasure@vanderburghsheriff.com

Vigo (Terre Haute)

Jennifer Todd

Indiana State Universityjennifer.todd@indstate.edu

Detective Sgt. Dan Parmer

ISU Police Deptdaniel.parmer@indstate.edu

Detective Troy Pesavento

Terre Haute Police Dept.troy.pesavento@terrehaute.in.gov


_______________

  • Kosciusko (Warsaw)
Bowen Center hosts rural mental health training for officers from the following counties: Kosciusko, Noble, Whitley, Allen, Huntington, LaGrange, Marshall, Wabash, Steuben, DeKalb, and Fulton.

Huntter Randall

Bowen Centerhuntter.randall@bowencenter.org


Calendar: For information about upcoming CIT classes taking place around Indiana view the CIT Calendar. You will need to contact the local CIT coalition coordinator to inquire for information about the class, including any request to attend.

CIT Resources for Communities

Memphis Model National Curriculum- Are you planning a CIT training in your community? The University of Memphis developed this interactive sample 40-hour curriculum which will walk you through the important components of Memphis Model CIT training. Notice the 10+ hours of scenario based skill training!

Learn More about CIT and CIT Startup - CIT International has published materials to help communities build an effective CIT coalition and training curriculum in their community -- available to the public.

CIT International - Website with CIT resources from around the world. Membership is $25/ year.

Mental Health First and Aid and CIT - What Should Law Enforcement Do? - The National Council on Behavioral Health and CIT International worked together to publish this white paper about the strengths of and differences between MHFA and CIT.